Aircrack-ng forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Aircrack-ng 1.7 release

Sorry Guest, you are banned from posting and sending personal messages on this forum.
This ban is not set to expire.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to run station mode and ap mode concurrently  (Read 14525 times)

CloudNine

• Experienced
How to run station mode and ap mode concurrently
« on: July 15, 2016, 04:18:46 pm »

I am fairly new to aircrack-ng so please bear with me!

I am trying to set up a penetration testing environment using Kali and one aspect of this is testing our corporate WiFi. I am using a fairly 'standard' Lenovo laptop with i3 processor and a built in Intel WiFi adapter. Since the premise is that an attacker will not likely be tethered to a wired Ethernet connection, but will be roaming and using wireless technology, I am trying to emulate a MITM scenario by connecting as a client to the corporate WiFi while running a rogue AP on the laptop, using only the built in WiFi interface.

As indicated by iw list, the adapter seems to support mixed mode:

Code: [Select]
valid interface combinations:

* #{ managed } <= 1, #{ ap } <= 1,
        total <= 2, #channels <= 1, STA/AP BI must match
     * #{ managed } <=2,
        total <=2, #channels <=1

Following research on the Internet, I am setting up two interfaces on the same WiFi adapter, a client (station mode) interface called 'wst' and an AP interface called 'wap' like this:

service network-manage stop
iw dev wlan1 del
iw phy phy0 interface add wst type station
service network manager start
iw phy phy0 interface add wap type __ap

ifconfig confirms that the interfaces are being created. The laptop automatically re-connects to my company wireless LAN using the 'wst' interface, I get an IP address from the DHCP server and I can successfully browse the internet.